CHILDFIND: WE'RE LOOKING FOR SPECIAL KIDS

CHILD IDENTIFICATION PROCEDURES (Child Find)

As a member of the Educational Service District 112 Special Education ESA, Dayton School District conducts childfind activities for the purpose of locating, evaluating, and identifying individuals with a suspected disability who are residing within the district boundaries, whether or not they are enrolled in the public school system. Childfind activities apply to individuals birth through 21 years who are not currently receiving special education and related services. If your family is living in a temporary situation, you may contact the district where you are staying to attend a screening. Parents having concerns about their child's health, hearing, intellectual functioning, language, learning, movement, serious behavioral needs, speech, or vision can contact the principal in their child's school or contact the Educational Service District 112 at 800-233-0067

Click here for more information on the ESD 112

Special Education Policy

Special Education Procedure

Developmental Disabilities Administration Website

Division of Vocational Rehabilitation Walla Walla Website

Special Education Support Staff:
Casey Herbst - caseyh@daytonsd.org
Sara Fortier - saraf@daytonsd.org
Shannon Griffen - shannong@daytonsd.org
Denise Strot - denises@daytonsd.org
Kelsey Klingenstein - kelseyk@daytonsd.org
Emily Adams - emilya@daytonsd.org
Amber McDonald - amberm@daytonsd.org

Special Education Specialists:
Angie Whaley - Behavior Specialist
angiew@daytonsd.org
Katelyn Wambold- Psychologist
katelynw@daytonsd.org
Jen Rodrick - Speech Therapist
jenr@daytonsd.org
Grace Dostal - Teacher of Blind and Visually Impaired
gdostal@esd123.org
Abby Grende - Occupational Therapist
abby.grende@esd112.org
Jennifer Casey - Physical Therapist
Kristen Bailey - O&M Specialist
kbailey@esd123.org



SPECIAL EDUCATION DEPARTMENT
Dayton School District No. 2
509-382-2543

The Dayton School District is part of a special education cooperative through the ESD 112 (Educational Service District) located in Vancouver WA

Positions within the special education department are filled through the ESD 112. For more information please visit the ESD 112 website at https://esd112.org. At this time there is a position open for a special education para professional. To apply please use the following link:
Invitation to Apply

Meet our Staff:

Emmy Kirk

Emmy Kirk - Special Education Director emmyk@daytonsd.org

Tanya Patton

Tanya Patton - HS Special Education Teacher tanyap@daytonsd.org

Angela Kenney, Elementary Special Education Teacher

Angela Kenney - Elem Special Education Teacher angelak@daytonsd.org