CHILDFIND: WE'RE LOOKING FOR SPECIAL KIDS

CHILD IDENTIFICATION PROCEDURES (Child Find)

As a member of the Educational Service District 112 Special Education ESA, Dayton School District conducts childfind activities for the purpose of locating, evaluating, and identifying individuals with a suspected disability who are residing within the district boundaries, whether or not they are enrolled in the public school system. Childfind activities apply to individuals birth through 21 years who are not currently receiving special education and related services. If your family is living in a temporary situation, you may contact the district where you are staying to attend a screening. Parents having concerns about their child's health, hearing, intellectual functioning, language, learning, movement, serious behavioral needs, speech, or vision can contact the principal in their child's school or contact the Educational Service District 112 at 800-233-0067

Click here for more information on the ESD 112

Special Education Policy

Special Education Procedure

Developmental Disabilities Administration Website

Division of Vocational Rehabilitation Walla Walla Website

SPECIAL EDUCATION DEPARTMENT

The Dayton School District is part of a special education cooperative through the ESD 112 (Educational Service District) located in Vancouver WA

Positions within the special education department are filled through the ESD 112. For more information please visit the ESD 112 website at https://www.esd112.org/

Meet our Staff:

Special Education Director - Emmy Kirk
509-382-2543 or emmyk@daytonsd.org

Tanya Patton - Special Education Teacher for grades 6-12
509-382-4775 or tanyap@daytonsd.org

Danielle Veitenheimer - Special Education Teacher for grades K-5 - 509-382-2507 or daniellev@daytonsd.org

Brooke Lovgren - Birth to 3 Special Education Teacher 509-382-2507 or brookel@daytonsd.org

Special Education Support Staff:

Casey Herbst - caseyh@daytonsd.org
Sara Fortier - saraf@daytonsd.org
Darby Souza - darbys@daytonsd.org
Shannon Griffen - shannong@daytonsd.org
Denise Strot - denises@daytonsd.org
Jennifer Finney - jenniferf@daytonsd.org

Midge Crawford - Psychologist
Teresa Koppang - Speech Therapist
Kayla Lewis - Speech Therapist